Bob Desper – New Sounds

December 4, 2008

“The Pacific Northwest is a dark, dank place, with a suicide rate higher than Keith Richards on a four day binge. Even their most articulate native son, Kurt Cobain, drowned in the sea of despair and offed himself. And what’s the cause of this environmental depression??? It may be the constant grey skies and rain, it may be the extremely high runaway and homeless rate or it just may very well be the music of Bob Desper. Bob recorded his New Sounds LP in one take at the local Rose City Sound studios. Just him, his acoustic guitar and an amazing insight to the dark side of the human psyche. So dark in fact, that only a blind man can see it. Bob is that man, and on this LP he taps into a place that very few people have visited. His voice is quiet with an edge sharper than a Ginzu knife. His lyrics reflect a lonely man who recognizes the shortcomings of human kind. This LP gives me goosebumps each and every time I play it. Side one starts off with “Darkness Is Like A Shadow”. A spooky, echoey tune where Bob introduces a topic that becomes a re-occurring theme throughout the entire LP, the fact that people with eyesight are blind to the things that are truly important in life. “It’s Too Late” and “Lonely Man” follow and continue the introspective soul search, all accompanied by Bob’s extraordinary guitar playing. The fourth and last cut on side one is “To A Friend Of Mine”. This is where I usually start thinking about going into the bathroom and slitting my wrist with a razor blade just to prove to Bob that I could begin to understand what true suffering is. This 15+ minute journey is, in my opinion, the most flawless chunk of downer/loner folk music ever recorded. Side two is good, but pales in comparison to it’s flip side. Songs are “Let It Shine For You”, “Don’t You Cry For Me”, “Liberty” and “Time Is Almost Over”. [RH]” – Acid Archives

The only straight vinyl transfer I have contains some surface noise. If you’re lucky enough to own a clean copy, why not do me a favor and create a higher-quality version. If you don’t, good luck finding this one. Recent copies sold have fetched as much as $1255. If anyone know of any other available pressings, let me know!

Bob Desper
New Sounds
MediaFire Download Link

01. Darkness Is Like A Shadow
02. It’s Too Late
03. Lonely Man
04. To A Friend Of Mine
05. Let It Shine For You
06. Don’t Cry For Me
07. Liberty
08. Time Is Almost Over


  1. bobby

    this is great. thank you

  2. Dave


    I have a CD made from a mint original vinyl LP. I will trade a copy for something else cool.



  3. |

    hey man…
    we just officially released this on vinyl. it includes as a bonus a re-issue of his 1st vinyl 7″ as well…full backstory & info on full color insert. bonus picture sleeve for 7″…check it out at

  4. |

    Discourage did an awesome job with their reissue. Only a fool wouldn’t get it. Desper is a Portland legend.

  5. |

    looking for a copy of Bob Desper. Anyone out there?

  6. |

    This is a great album and the recent reissue has great sound, go get it before is is sold out…

  7. exbeachbum

    Where can I get Bob Desper’s album?

  8. […] at the fair, so I settled for a new copy of the album with the bonus 7″. This is another “Collector’s Slum” album I’ve shared in the past. This is a truly dark, moving record. A blind singer-songwriter […]

Leave a Comment

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.