Sunday Mix Tape Number 156

August 16, 2009

When there are thirty minutes left in your work day, and the only thought on your mind is whiskey, it’s nice to know sometimes that your manager is having the same thoughts. What’s even nicer is when he allows you to leave work early, under the pretense that you walk to the adjacent liquor store to shop for new bottles of whiskey. I picked up a bottle of Elmer T. Lee’s Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey, which I will be sampling in a few minutes as I watch MTV’s The State on my newly acquired — but long ago pre-ordered — DVD. To appease those of you who stop by on Sundays to enjoy my mix tapes, here is a new compilation to whet your appetite. Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to wet my whistle.

RULES for uninitiated noobs: With roughly 100MB of webspace, I give birth to a weekly Mix Tape to be deposited on your iPods or Zunes or Kingklangs or whatever the industry is currently pushing on you. Sometimes there will be themes that link all the songs together, other times I’ll just throw songs at a wall (not literally) and see what sticks. Tonight’s mix tape doesn’t have a theme, but I’ve picked up most of the songs from CDs that I’ve heard in recent days or weeks. There are also some old standards (see: Six Finger Satellite), and some artists who are represented multiple times, but for the most part this is a compilation of new music that hasn’t been featured on previous installments. The goal of this endeavor, as always, is to pique your interest in these artists so you’ll support the artists and buy their albums.

Sunday Mix Tape – Number 156
The Devil May Come For Us In Our Sleep Tonight

01. Allen Toussaint – Whirlaway(buy this album)
02. Thee Oh Sees – In The Shadow Of The Giant – (Sub Pop, 2009)
03. The Devil’s Anvil – Isme(buy this album)
04. Os Brazoes – Canastra Real
05. Deerhoof – The Tears And Music Of Love (Instrumental)(buy this album)
06. Kan Mikami – Bang!(buy this album)
07. Allen Toussaint – Me And You(buy this album)
08. Thee Oh Sees – She Said To Me (Demo) – (Sub Pop, 2009)
09. The Devil’s Anvil – Nahna Ou Diab(buy this album)
10. Elefant – Bokkie(buy this album)
11. Parlour – Landlaked(buy this album)
12. Thee Oh Sees – Where The People Do Drugs – (Sub Pop 2009)
13. Tarentel – Bell Jar(buy this album)
14. Caspian – Ghosts Of The Garden City
15. Six Finger Satellite – The Great Depression(buy this album)

1 comment

Leave a Comment