Aeoga – Coav

Aeoga - Coav Disc

“To exhaust mind and body in order to obtain a condition of non-consciousness and thus receive, realize and create material based on both primal and absent vision.” COAV I-XIII recorded during 16.-19.4.2004. Issued in a 6 panel matte paper sleeve that is placed between two matte black squares. There is a small piece of knotted rope stapled to the front square, which rests at a diagonal inside four die cut slits in the larger backing piece. Limited to 1,000 copies.

From Aversion Online:

More superb dark ambient explorations from a Finnish project on the Aural Hypnox label, here in the form of eight long tracks revolving around subtle percussive resonance, low-end hums and drones, and cascading waves of sinister synths with a few chiming sounds. The tracks are titled simply “Coav I” through “Coav VIII”, most running more than seven or eight minutes each, playing through rather consistently as a whole, some stripped down to a more minimal level of persistently hypnotic drones with lots of depth and little hints of melody. Some of the strange metallic scrapings/clashings get a little more chaotic in the background of “Coav III”; “Coav V” and “Coav VI” run together seamlessly and are among the most simplistic tracks herein, using little layering and billowing through waves of in and out hums with only scarce accents for nearly 20 minutes combined, dropping back to an even quieter lull at the start of “Coav VII”. But “Coav IV” has a moaning sort of vocal passage and more of an eerie sort of tribal ritual undercurrent to its percussion and overall aesthetic (including some very faint glitchy distortion), making for a rather evil sounding piece that’s one of my definite favorites. As usual the recording is great on this thing, everything is full and there’s a lot of space for things to ring through. The mastering is loud and thick and I have no complaints. The packaging is very nice here. A matte sleeve printed in red on cream paper is housed inside of two matte black squares, one with a small piece of rope attached to it that rests at a diagonal inside four diecut slits in the larger backing piece to secure the CD and sleeve. The inner sleeve has some strange abstract images and icons alongside a band photo, all in high contrast, with one unusual statement – definitely in line with other releases from this label: “To exhaust mind and body in order to obtain a condition of non-consciousness and thus receive, realize, and create material based on the concept of both primal and absent vision.” There definitely seems to be a thematic approach to this release, and the end result plays through over the course of an hour with nice fluidity and a consistent mood that’s perfect for the right atmosphere. There really does seem to be a lot of extremely creative work going on in the dark ambient scene in Finland, and Aural Hypnox definitely has a huge hand in that charge. I look forward to hearing more, and recommend this fully.

(Aural Hypnox, 2004)
MediaFire DL Link

01. Coav I
02. Coav II
03. Coav III [MP3]
04. Coav IV
05. Coav V
06. Coav VI
07. Coav VII
08. Coav VIII


Leave a Comment

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.