Pärson Sound – Pärson Sound

In celebration of the imminent arrival of my new 3LP box set of this masterpiece, which is finally receiving the vinyl treatment after 40+ years.

Taken from Aquarius Records:

“Before we actually listened to this…we didn’t expect too much from these fairly obscure Swedish psychedelic underground rockers, having never heard them before, and knowing only that they were an earlier incarnation of another Swedish hippy rock outfit (Träd, Gräs och Stenar) whose much-hyped live album failed to impress us when it was issued on CD several years ago by this same label. So how was it that this band could deserve a double cd collection? Well, they do. Man, were we wrong! These guys were great! [Something also borne out by the more recent reissues of Harvester, International Harvester, and the actual Träd, Gräs och Stenar studio album, all of which are worth getting too.] This is a completely astounding collection of dark shimmering drones and super heavy tranced out minimal psych-rock recorded in 1967 and ’68. At times freaky and chaotic, but most often hypnotically locked into stoned grooves, this is some of the best heavy psych we’ve ever heard. Their shifting instrumentation (the list includes guitar, bass, drums, organ, double-bass, electric-cello, flute, cowbell, saxophone, hand drums, acoustic guitar, tape recorder, and…seance? huh?) is employed in both intricate and extended studio recordings and totally primal and euphoric live performances over the course of these two discs. Parson Sound crafted music that, while reminiscent of the Taj Mahal Travellers, Terry Riley, Flower Travelling Band and the like, is almost wholly their own. If you were told that this was a new, 2001 recording you’d think that it must be some Japanese Acid Mothers Temple style psych-rock supergroup, or Bardo Pond on some hitherto unknown variety of really really good drugs…wow! Yet again we are amazed at the musical treasures hidden in the not-so-ancient past, and grateful to the fans and labels that dig ’em up for reissues like this one. And Subliminal Sounds does it right, packaging these archival recordings with detailed liner notes, and evocative art and photos — although the music is all that’s needed to make you wish you’d been born old and Swedish enough to have been at one of the free-rock happenings documented here!”

Pärson Sound
Pärson Sound
MegaUpload DL Link

01. Intro
02. Tio Minuter (Ten Minutes)
03. From Tunis To India In Fullmoon (One Testosterone)
04. India (Slight Return)
05. A Glimpse Inside The Glyptotec-663
06. One Quiet Afternoon (In The King’s Garden)
07. Sov Gott Rose-Marie
08. Skrubba
09. Milano
10. On How To Live
11. Blaslaten

Leave a Comment